Once again I’ve lost the impedance or is that the
inclination to blog? Or is it that I have naff all to tell the world?? Maybe even worse still, is it that I have
writers block? To be honest I think it
is all of the above. I am boring the
arse off myself, blogging and indeed writing is meant to be good for the reader
(and the writer for that matter) if it comes easy, and for me at the moment, it
isn’t. It is forced and I have decided
that I am going to try and limp through to the end of year. Why the end of
year, well I like tidy endings and then Phil must take over the naked bloggers and claim it for his own.
Maybe we should swap roles and I will do a once-a-month instead of him?
Of course, Phil may well decide to end the
end of the era and give up as well, but he always has so much to say and his
travel blogs take on their own importance and relevance and so who I am to
knock him?? Indeed I don’t, I know first-hand how much he struggles with
internet connections and photo downloads whilst away, and I for one, commend
both his dedication to the blog overseas because it can be very time consuming.
Unlike me, Phil is very committed to the blog; he may be well off the wall for
my liking (sometimes) but he is the one that has kept this blog alive and
kicking.
Last week turned out to be a bit of a medical one; I took Phil for his diabetes eye test at the Maple clinic at MKG. It always rains when we go there each year and last Monday was no exception. Except it was an exception this year because I spotted my 70 year old mother that I haven’t seen for over 20 years being wheeled by a helper (friend) in the same reception room as us. I felt bad but I didn’t want any confrontation so I had to leave Phil to his eye dye (which isn’t very nice BTW) and went to wait in the car. I had to pay the parking and luckily got back to the Maple Unit just as the friend and the mother were leaving. I felt nothing but relief which I know must sound harsh but that’s just the way it is. No hard feelings, maybe just a little bit of regret that we can’t go back in time and put things right especially as by all accounts that she is at end of her life.
Luckily Phil’s eye diabetes test turned okay; I went back for another blood test on Tuesday and that too went okay. I read on the internet that it was easier to have warm blood so I had a really hot shower on Tuesday morning (early) and I also drunk pints and pints of water beforehand. I am glad to say it worked, the phlebotomist was brilliant, she used a small needle and got blood the first time on trying. God I was so relieved. I am such a wimp.
Forget Wednesday folks, a week away and I can’t remember
what the devil I did. It was obviously
so unremarkable. Thursday I do remember;
I went to the health club then picked up Sue.
Her car had broken down in a big way on the M1, she managed to limp back
to Newport and on Wednesday I followed her to the KIA garage in Wolverton then
we drove to Overstone. I didn’t have
much to do at the caravan. Change beds,
hoover throughout, load fresh foods into both respective fridges then we were
good to go. I had to collect post for
Phil from The Manor at Great Billing Garden centre; there was only 1 letter
which was a bit disappointing especially as I was expecting some books from
Amazon.
Sue had I checked out the shoe shop, she got new ankle boots
and then we had lunch in the café next door which was good. Afterwards, we stopped off at Olney for a quick
browse. That was okay, bit depressing
because everything was so expensive and we couldn’t afford anything. Actually I say that, aside from the shoe shop,
there was nothing that I actually liked enough to buy. All in all a good day but confess I felt a
little guilty with the DH hard at work.
On Friday it was gym for me, actually my 3rd gym
session of the week, followed by a Chinese take-away for one (shared with Phil)
at the local Chinese takeaway on GP then Phil went to the medical centre at Newport
for wee and blood tests, another part of
his annual diabetes tests. I had to let
him go by himself as Sue’s car had died and I picked her up and we drove to the
caravan. Felt a bit de je vu as I had only been there the day before. We had invited Sue over so she could see my
step dad and Marie who had arrived at the caravan earlier that afternoon. It was through John & Marie that we met
Sue & Alan. The day before I had left the spare keys in the gas BBQ (sssshhhh
don’t tell anyone). This was J & M’s last weekend in the UK as they go away
this Saturday to spend 6 months in the caravan in La Mango.
What a shame that the weather was awful; we lit the chim chimmery
outside, for the first time I might add since we brought it in 2007; we sat
underneath the gazebo as the rain came down but we ended up having supper
inside. I felt a bit guilty because I’d
only done a readymade lasagne, salad, garlic bread and some baked potatoes but
I suppose it filled a whole. After
eating, we got ready and went to the clubhouse as we had tickets for the 50’s
and 60’s night. I was surprised because
there weren’t many there although it did get a bit busier later in the
evening. The group were good but I was a
bit disappointed with the music as I didn’t recognise many of the songs. Still it didn’t stop me getting up and having
a bop, in fact we all danced, even Phil!
It was 1am by the time we got to bed and nobody was rushing
to get up and ready on Saturday morning.
Sue & I walked to the shop to get a paper and then Marie, Sue &
I drove to Weston Favell to get a few supplies.
I dipped out of cooking and we had lunch at The Manor. We managed to get the round table in the
window which is my favourite. Food was
okay, cheap and cheerful but Marie & Sue had the carvery which they both
said was nice. Sue went home in the
afternoon and the rest of us, well we just chilled. I mean chill literally, it
was freezing in the vans. Saturday
evening was cheese rolls, more wine and a couple of games of cards. We weren’t late which was just as well
because I just can’t take the pace these days.
Sunday was a more subtle affair, Phil drove to Melton with
Georgina to see mum and me and the steps went to CMK as Marie wanted some last
minute shopping. In hindsight, I should
have taken them to Northampton as it would have been nearer but I just didn’t think. We came back to Northamptonshire and had
Sunday lunch at The Lamb near Sywell. It
was very busy and really I should have booked but luckily we got a table. It was a foul day so a good old Sunday lunch
was just what everyone needed. We didn’t
get back to the van until half 3, just time for a sleep in bed with my heated
blanket. Phil got back at half five and wanted to go to
the club house but none of were keen.
Instead, I heated up a Mr Tesco Finest quiche and we had the one game of
cards and then I threw the guests out at 9pm.
I quite like having quests at the van, but 2 nights is fine but 3 nights
is just one to many. It’s a shame, we
have had a lovely summer and invited quite a few friends but there are still so
many to invite, maybe next year, it’s definitely not as much fun when the sun
don’t shine.
J & M headed for home just after 8am on Monday. I washed
their bedding, tidied up, packed up and I guess we got back to the flat around
half ten. It was a miserable day and I
didn’t feel like going anywhere. We had
left overs lunch and I basically spent most of the day, washing, drying and
ironing. Fun – not really. I made it to
the gym on Tuesday but the rain and the grey made me feel really
miserable. I was in a real grot mood
when I stopped by Sue’s for a cup of tea but then her mad friend Carol turned
up and we ended up drinking wine at half four in the afternoon which meant my
detox during the week went out the window. I didn’t care much, sometimes you do
need to grab life by the ankles and not give a damn about the
consequences. The rain was lashing down
and I did think about Phil and went to pick him up from work even though I was
ten minutes late.
Today, Wednesday was a fairly productive one. I had a really good run at the gym. I don’t know
if I mentioned it but I have been suffering quite badly with sciatica but it
did me good having 3 days off from the gym at the weekend. It’s not 100% but it feels much better. Sue came round for lunch, nothing fancy,
salmon, mash, green beans and a bit of spinach.
Sue doesn’t get her car back until tomorrow; on Monday I swapped my car
for Phil’s so at least she has had some wheels.
After lunch I had a bit of shopping to do and Sue came with. Nothing amazing, Lidl’s, Wickes, B&M and
lastly B&M’s. I got all of my bits
and for someone that didn’t want anything in particular, (her words not imine) Sue
probably spent more than me! She is
definitely a girl that shops until she drops lol!
With this crap weather, I am definitely going into
hibernation mode. It’s coming and I can
feel it in my bones. Just wait until the
clocks go back and I will turn into a stay-at-home, lock the doors type of girl
and throw away the key. I think in
medical terms, it’s called ‘SAD Syndrome’.
And that folks just about sums me up.
No comments:
Post a Comment