For any blokes that read this blog, a word of warning. These first paragraphs will be all talk of women’s problems so you will probably want to skip these and read from after my second photograph!
I have been suffering with severe PMS these last few days
and have been feeling really horrible. It started with mild symptoms last
Tuesday and then got progressively worse each day. On Thursday my stomach was
so bloated that I looked like I was 6 months pregnant and believe me I do not exaggerate. I haven’t felt this bad with time of the
month for years mainly because I’ve had the Mirena coil for the last 10 years
and this basically means that you don’t get periods or more importantly PMS. This is why it is strange that I should get
severe PMS two months in a row.
I haven’t been really
been feeling myself for the last 6 months and it got me thinking. I have been putting my symptoms (tiredness,
brain fog, bad skin, dry, irritability, coarse, dry and thinning air and
blurred vision) down to getting old and the menopause but then I wondered
whether it might be the Mirena coil? I
haven’t been able to shift the extra pounds that I put on since Christmas which
is very unusual for me. For the last
couple of weeks, especially this week, I have managed to resist my cravings for
carbs and chocolate and have been really good on my low fat high protein diet
plus I’ve been to the gym every single day.
I spent a long time researching the Mirena coil on the Internet over the
weekend and read some real horror stories.
My Mirena was due to come out in August but after what I’ve learnt, I'm
getting mine taken out ASAP. I’ve always
been a little concerned about putting a synthetic hormone in my body and now I’m
convinced it is responsible for some or all of my problems. Only time will tell I guess.
OK, hormone rant over (actually I do feel better this
morning) I suppose I should get back to the day to day stuff. Last
Wednesday we drove to Melton to see mum and dad. Unfortunately Phil missed the turning on the
motorway and we ended up having to go through the centre of Loughborough. Bummer really because it put an extra half an
hour on our journey. When we finally
arrived at the bungalow, Phil’s mum and dad were not at their best. Phil’s dad looked like the mad professor from
Back to the Future, his hair is so long and he is in dire need of a haircut. Phil’s mum had a dodgy leg and was walking
indoors with her stick. She must have
been feeling poorly because she didn’t feel strong enough to prepare
lunch. I always offer to cook a meal
beforehand and bring it with to save her cooking but she always says “thanks
but no thanks”. Anyway, Phil popped out
and got a Chinese takeaway which wasn’t the best but it kept us all fed.
On Thursday I didn’t feel up to a workout but I did go to DW
for a swim. The pool was fairly quiet and I enjoyed my lengths and especially
the steam room afterwards. I really must
do this more often, it makes a nice change from cardio. On
Friday I woke up with a really bad gut ache but still I went to the gym. The pain felt like I was in the early stages
of labour and I barely managed to even walk on the treadmill let alone run. I
had to give up on my workout and head back to the changing room to take some
tablets. Fortunately I still have a
stack of Codeine tablets that Sue gave me and these really helped.
Talking of Sue, I picked her up after lunch on Friday and we
went to the cinema to ‘I give it a year’.
We both thought the film was really good and giggled the whole way
through. It was sad in parts but it had
a happy ending which made is a real chick-flick. After the movie we popped into the Tesco
Extra on Green Park so Sue could get a couple of bits of shopping and then it
was back to her house for a cup of tea.
Saturday wasn’t very exciting and I don’t think Phil even changed
out of his PJ’s all day, no need to as he didn’t have a reason to leave the
house. As usual, I went to the gym and
actually managed a half decent workout which made me happy. This was short-lived however, because the
pain came back after lunch. We had a bit of a duvet afternoon and watched 3
recorded films back to back. Phil has
been recording some weird films recently but these were quite good ones. I did get the ironing done but it took me 4
hours because I had to keep sitting down and having a rest. Not a biggie I guess and at least I emptied
the ironing basket.
We had a bit of a lie-in on Sunday morning which was nice as
were spending the day apart. Phil took
my car and picked up Georgina and his ex mother-in-law (don’t ask) and drove to Melton to have lunch with his mum
and dad. I had persuaded them to book
the Bowls Club for lunch because I was worried about mum cooking with her bad
leg. Mum booked the table and according
to Phil they had a very nice meal. When
Phil left, I went to the gym and then did some shopping in Asda. Asda was packed out; it was like shopping on
Christmas Eve. I did myself some salmon
and salad for lunch and then did my housework.
I did a proper job, pulling out furniture and dusting all the skirting
boards. I also cooked a vegetable chilli
and it was gone 4pm by the time I sat down.
I expected Phil to get home late but he was backed at the flat before
5pm which wasn’t too late. We watched a
film and then had an early night.
I was dismayed to see the snow this morning. I knew we were due some but I didn’t think it
would settle. I am local today but
tomorrow I am meant to be driving down to Suffolk. Should I stay or should I go?? I dunno,
going to the gym shortly so I shall how the local roads are before I make my
decision. Bloody weather!
.jpg)
.jpg)
.jpg)
No comments:
Post a Comment